I dedicated this semester to not only honing my skills, but also developing new techniques and methods. I experimented with stains, glazes, and ways to throw to improve my work and become more comfortable with the entire process involved with creating a finished piece.

Throughout the semester, I explored many new techniques of throwing, glazing, and working with various types of clay, and my projects reflect innovative ideas that I have developed. One of the first assignments of the semester was to create a set of three. I incorporated a dragonfly design into every piece but in different ways. The symbol made the pieces a set, but it was not too obvious because of the variations in technique. In the beginning of the semester, I also created two altered lip bowls. They use the same technique of pulling out the lip while it is still on the wheel, but it is much more pronounced in one of the bowls – it alters the shape of the entire lip, not just small portions of it as in the other bowl. When I created apples and pumpkins on the wheel, I used throwing techniques that I use to make bowls and vases to create recognizable objects that I do not usually associate with pottery. I created two apples and two pumpkins, and each one is designed differently. Near the end of the semester, I began experimenting with porcelain, and I created two slab projects. They represent streambeds because of their texture and the glass that is melted on the bottom, which looks like pooled water. The projects that I made this semester show a lot of variety and are both useful and purely artistic.

Throughout the semester, I developed new techniques and improved on the skills I had. For many projects, I have a vision in mind and form the clay intuitively to create the desired shape, rather than purely use techniques that I have been taught. For the set of three, my application method of the dragonfly symbol was different in each piece, creating projects that have a more subtle common element. For the dragonfly bowl, I traced the dragonfly symbol on the bowl and cut it out so a large fraction of the bowl is negative space. The motif is conveyed through the absence of clay, not the addition of it. For the vase, I traced the shape on the outside and carved away the clay around it, so the dragonfly protrudes from the vase even though no clay was added. The dragonfly on the plate is stain; the clay itself was not altered. The dragonfly is the same size in all three projects but its application varies. When I created altered lip bowls, I threw two bowls, one taller than it is wide, and one wider than it is tall. While they were still on the wheel, I gently stretched out the clay with my finger. The pumpkins and apples were thrown on the wheel. I started out with a short, narrow cylinder. Then I widened the middle while keeping the base narrow, and finally choked it all the way until it was closed. I used the blue rib tool to shape it. For the pumpkins, I used a rib tool to create the ridges characteristic of pumpkins. The day after they were thrown, I footed them by hand with the footing tools to smooth out and round off the bottoms. I created the streambed pieces by draping thin pieces of porcelain on platters with rocks on them to create a bumpy bottom and an overall elliptical shape. I fired the pieces like this and then dipped them in clear glaze. Next, I scattered small polished rocks across the piece and put broken glass around the rocks. When the projects went through the glaze kiln, the glass melted and pooled around the bumpy bottom of the porcelain and looks like water. I combined the skills I have learned with innovative methods of my own to create my pieces.

Each project either uses a skill I have in a new application or explores new methods of throwing and glazing. For the set of three, I experimented with the application of the dragonfly to try out new techniques and hone my execution of these projects. When I altered the lips of bowls, I used a technique that I had read about and applied it to my projects to practice this concept that was new for me. For my apples and pumpkins, I used the skills that I had developed when I made vases in a new way: to choke the project completely until it resembled something new entirely. When I glazed the projects to compliment the shape, they became apples and pumpkins. Making the streambed pieces, I explored techniques that Ms. Heideman developed and added my own touches, such as the polished rocks. I was fascinated by the synthesis of porcelain, rocks, and glass, materials that I had never combined before. Each of my projects represents a method that I further developed throughout the semester or an exploration of my skills and the blending of techniques.

The theme of the projects I have created this semester involves exploration and innovation. My projects demonstrate a departure from my previous standard shapes and glazes to more varied and advanced concepts. The projects included in my theme presentation explore specific art elements, such as negative space, new glazing techniques, and unusual forms.




Leave a Reply.